Skip to content

Browse Our Exclusive New Collection of Vintage Products - Shop Now

Previous article
Now Reading:
Understanding the Buddhist beliefs About Tantra
Next article

Understanding the Buddhist beliefs About Tantra

Understanding the Buddhist beliefs About Tantra

As the sun sets behind the towering peaks of the Himalayas, casting a golden glow over ancient monasteries nestled in the valleys below, one cannot help but be captivated by the mystique of Tantric Buddhism. This enigmatic branch of Buddhism has long intrigued seekers with its promise of transforming desires into enlightenment, offering a path to profound self-realization and spiritual awakening.

What is Tantric Buddhism?

Tantric Buddhism, also known as Vajrayana, is a spiritual tradition that delves deep into the nature of the mind and the universe. It is a path that promises not just personal liberation from suffering but also the ability to benefit all beings and bring about universal enlightenment. At its core lies the belief that through ritual, meditation, and visualization, one can transcend the limitations of ordinary perception and realize the innate wisdom and compassion that lie within.

Origins and Foundations

Buddhist beliefs About Tantra

While the historical origins of Tantric Buddhism are complex, it is believed to have emerged in India around the 6th century CE. The teachings of Tantric Buddhism are rooted in the foundational principles of Mahayana Buddhism, which emphasize compassion for all living beings and the aspiration to attain Buddhahood for the benefit of others.

Also Read - Ashoka Sundari: The Lesser-Known Sister of Lord Ganesha

Key Concepts and Practices

Key Concepts and Practices

Transformation of Desires: Tantric Buddhism teaches that desires, instead of being suppressed, can be transformed into the path to enlightenment. This transformation involves understanding the true nature of desires and using them as a means to cultivate wisdom and compassion.

Deity Yoga: Central to Tantric practice is the concept of deity yoga, where practitioners visualize themselves as enlightened beings (deities) and engage in practices that align their thoughts, actions, and emotions with the qualities of these deities. This practice is believed to accelerate the process of attaining enlightenment.

Mantras and Rituals: Tantric Buddhism utilizes mantras (sacred sounds or phrases) and rituals as a means to purify the mind and cultivate spiritual qualities. Mantras are believed to have transformative powers and are chanted as a way to invoke the blessings of enlightened beings.

Meditation and Visualization: Meditation plays a central role in Tantric practice, with an emphasis on visualizing oneself in a pure and enlightened state. Practitioners engage in elaborate visualizations of sacred imagery, such as mandalas (symbolic representations of the universe) and deity forms, to cultivate a deeper understanding of the nature of reality.

Transmission and Lineage
Tantric teachings are traditionally transmitted from teacher to student in a lineage that traces back to the historical Buddha Shakyamuni. The relationship between teacher and student is considered essential, as the teacher serves as a guide and mentor on the path to enlightenment.

The ultimate goal of Tantric Buddhism is to attain enlightenment, or Buddhahood, for the benefit of all living beings. Through the practice of Tantric Buddhism, practitioners aim to overcome suffering, cultivate wisdom and compassion, and realize their innate potential for enlightenment.
Also Read - Lord Krishna – Hindu Gods and Deities

The Four Paths of Tantric Buddhism

Tantric Buddhism has four types or schools which include:

  • Nyingma: The Nyingma school, also known as the Ancient or Old School, is the oldest tradition of Tibetan Buddhism. It was founded by the great master Padmasambhava in the 8th century. Nyingma teachings focus on understanding the nature of the mind and recognizing its innate purity. The school emphasizes the importance of meditation, mantra recitation, and deity yoga as a means to realize one's true nature and attain enlightenment.
  • Kagyu: The Kagyu tradition, established in the 11th century, is known for its emphasis on meditation and the transmission of teachings from master to disciple. The lineage places a strong emphasis on the relationship between the student and the spiritual master. The Kagyu school is renowned for its meditation practices, especially the Mahamudra and the Six Yogas of Naropa, which are considered powerful methods for attaining enlightenment in one lifetime.
  • Sakya: The Sakya school, founded in the 11th century, traces its origins to the great master Virupa. The tradition is known for its comprehensive and systematic approach to Buddhist practice and philosophy. The Sakya teachings emphasize the development of wisdom and compassion through meditation, ritual practices, and the study of Buddhist texts. The school is also known for its rich tradition of artistic expression, particularly in thangka painting and ritual dance.
  • Gelug: The Gelug school, founded by Je Tsongkhapa in the 14th century, is known for its emphasis on scholarship, ethics, and meditation. The Gelugpa tradition places a strong emphasis on the study of Buddhist philosophy, particularly the works of Indian scholar Nagarjuna and Tibetan scholar Je Tsongkhapa. The school is also known for its strict monastic discipline and its emphasis on ethical conduct as a foundation for spiritual practice.

Each of these four schools offers a distinct path to enlightenment, with its own unique practices and teachings. However, all four schools share a common goal: to help practitioners realize their innate potential for wisdom and compassion and to attain enlightenment for the benefit of all living beings.

Things to Know Before Practicing Tantra

  • Anyone who wishes to practice tantra should first go through the teachings of Hinayana and Mahayana.
  • One must practice Tantra under the guidance of a spiritual teacher who can guide them through the Tantric teachings & practices and help them attain the best results.
  • The practitioner must have a strong desire (also known as Bodhichitta) to help benefit others from their enlightenment. They must gain enlightenment with the aim of liberating all those who are suffering.
  • While practicing Tantra, all the Mantras should be recited properly. Besides this, mudras or hand gestures also play an important role in Buddhist Tantric practices.
  • Visualizations of all those practicing Buddhist Tantra should be clear and profound.


As per the Buddhist beliefs, one of the ways to attain Nirvana or Moksha is by realizing one’s nature and true potential. And Buddhist Tantric practices allow one to do the same. It educates us that enlightenment is not a thing of the future and we as humans are already enlightened - all we need is realization.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs):
Q. What are the practices of tantric Buddhism?
A. Buddhist tantric practices typically involve the recitation of mantras, visualizing deities, meditation, and performing ritual ceremonies.
Q. What are the 4 stages of tantra?
A. The 4 stages of tantra involve Kriya-tantra, Charya-tantra, Yoga-tantra and Anuttarayoga-tantra.
Q. What is the science behind Tantra?
A. Tantra originally refers to the spiritual science which first originated in India around 7000 years ago. Tantra is a combination of two Sanskrit roots - Tan signifying expansion and Tra signifying liberation. Hence, Tantra is a spiritual practice that helps individuals elevate and expand their minds to attain enlightenment.
Q. Which tantra is most powerful?
A. Shava Sadhana is regarded as the most difficult and important ritual in Tantra.

Select options Close