Skip to content

Previous article
Now Reading:
The Meaning of Top 7 Buddha Postures
Next article

The Meaning of Top 7 Buddha Postures

The Buddhist culture is hard to miss, no matter where you travel in the world. Have you ever observed any change in the poses of Buddha when you saw any idol or statue? You might be thinking wrong if you think that Buddha Idol has been created by mistake. Each traditional pose of Buddha has significance related to some important event in his life. You can visit our website, where we sell Buddha Idol in different poses. However, in this blog, you can learn about the Top 7 Buddha Postures that you should know.

1. The Reclining Buddha

The Reclining Buddha

The Reclining Buddha statue represents the last moments of the Historical Buddha's life on Earth, just before attaining Nirvana. It is believed that the Buddha succumbed to illness caused by consuming spoiled pork offered by a well-meaning donor.

Though Buddha attained enlightenment during his lifetime, he transcended the cycle of birth, death, and rebirth known as samsara, thereby achieving Nirvana. Typically depicted reclining on his right side atop a resting table, this posture symbolises the Buddha's peaceful departure.

One of the most popular statues of Reclining Buddha Pose can be found at Wat Pho in Bangkok, Thailand. However, numerous other temples across Southeast Asia also feature similar representations.

Also Read Who was Hanuman Married to?

2. Meditating Buddha

Meditating Buddha

The Meditating Buddha statue is a common way to show Buddha when he's meditating or thinking deeply. This idol usually shows Buddha with a peaceful face, eyes closed or a little open, and hands in a special position called a mudra. You can buy this Buddha Idol online at the Artarium. People make Meditating Buddha idols from different premium quality materials like Resin, stone, bronze, or gold, and they can be small or big. You can put the statue in temples or at your workplace to focus more. 

The way the statue looks and the way Buddha's hands show how he worked to understand life better and find peace. The mudra, or hand position, can be different, but it often shows Buddha concentrating deeply.

Sometimes, the Meditating Buddha statue has other things with it, like a lotus flower, which stands for how clear Buddha's mind was, or the Dharma wheel, which means his teachings.

In Buddhism, meditation is really important for growing spiritually. The Sitting Buddha statue reminds people to stay calm and focused. When people look at the statue and meditate, they can feel closer to Buddha's ideas and find peace and wisdom inside themselves. You can also start your spiritual journey with our Origami Lord Buddha.

3. Medicine Buddha

Medicine Buddha


The depiction of the Medicine Buddha statue represents Bhaisajyaguru which is also known as the "Medicine Buddha" in Buddhism. This Buddha idol portrays a seated figure exuding peaceful vibes, holding a vessel of healing elixir in one hand and a medicinal herb in the other. Mostly, you find the Medicine Buddha Statue in temples and wellness centres. It is believed that this Buddha Idol pose mitigates physical and psychological suffering. Its blue hue symbolises the Buddha's compassionate healing influence, while the bowl of nectar signifies the remedy found in his teachings.

4. Protecting Buddha

Protecting Buddha

This pose of the Buddha depicts a seated Buddha with the right hand raised and facing outwards. It has two main meanings.

First, it represents the Protection Buddha because the raised right-hand looks like a shield. Second, it symbolises Overcoming Fear, which is related to protection because when someone is protected, they feel less afraid.

Besides the raised right hand, the Buddha can be shown sitting or standing, and the left hand might be extended outward or resting palm up in the lap. This statue represents bravery and gives protection from Fear, confusion, and anger. You can put such Buddha Idols in your car. At the Artarium, there is a category where we sell Buddha Idol for Car Dashboard. 

Also Read 7 Things You Must Keep in Your Puja Room

5. Teaching Buddha

Teaching Buddha

The Teaching Buddha Idol shows wisdom, comprehension, and fulfilment of one's destiny. In this you will see both hands of Buddha are raised to chest level, with thumb and index fingers forming a circle. The right-hand faces inward, while the left-hand faces outward.

Just like other postures of Buddha, the Teaching Buddha also represents a significant moment of his life when he delivered his first sermon after achieving enlightenment. This sermon was to a group of disciples who had previously rejected him. The Buddha Idol State is especially suitable for those studying or interested in spirituality.

6. Laughing Buddha Idol

Laughing Buddha Idol

Originating in China, the Laughing Buddha depicts good fortune, prosperity, and abundance. You will find Laughing Buddha often in homes, businesses, and public spaces. It is believed to bring luck to those who rub its belly or make offerings. 

Crafted from premium quality materials like Resin, bronze, jade, or other precious materials, the statue features intricate carvings and decorative elements. In Buddhist tradition, the Laughing Buddha is a Bodhisattva, having achieved enlightenment yet opting to remain on Earth to help others. Revered for compassion, wisdom, and kindness, the Laughing Buddha holds a cherished place in Buddhist and Taoist cultures. You can visit our website, theartarium, to buy Buddha Idol for Car Dashboard or home decor.

7. Walking Buddha

Walking Buddha

Known as "Phra LeeLaa" in Thai, this Buddha Idol depicts grace and inner beauty. The Buddha's right hand extends outward, while the left-hand hangs by the body's left side. The right foot is slightly behind and lifts off from the ground.

This Buddha Pose originates from Thailand's Sukhothai period, symbolising the Buddha's return to Earth after preaching the Dharma in Heaven with Lord Indra and Lord Brahma.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs):

Q. What does the 7 Buddha mean?
A. 7 Buddha means seven different posters of the Buddha represent significant events that happened in the Buddha’s life. To know more about the 7 different Buddha you can read the complete blog.
Q. Who are the 3 gods of Buddhism?
A. The 3 deities in Buddhism are Vajrapani, Manjusri and Avalokitesvara.
Q. Which Buddha is the avatar of Vishnu?
A. Siddhartha Gautam is considered the avatar of Vishnu.
Q. What are the 5 teachings of Buddha?
A. Check the 5 main teachings of Buddha below.
Abstain from Killing living organisms
Always speak truth
Don’t consume alcohol
Don’t Steal
Abstain from Sexual Misconduct
Meditating Monk
Buy Meditating Monk
Select options Close