Skip to content

Be the First to Own Our New Panchmukhi Hanuman – Shop Now!

Previous article
Now Reading:
Learn About the 8 Avatars of Maa Laxmi & their Significance
Next article

Learn About the 8 Avatars of Maa Laxmi & their Significance

Goddess Lakshmi is the goddess of wealth, fortune, and prosperity in Hindu mythology. She's depicted as a beautiful woman with four hands, standing or sitting on a lotus flower. Her four hands symbolize the four goals of human life: dharma (righteousness), artha (wealth), kama (desires), and moksha (liberation). 

But do you know, the goddess Lakshmi has eight different forms (also known as Ashtalakshmi) each of which represents her unique traits? In this blog, we will learn more about these avatars and their significance.

Ashtalakshmi: The 8 Forms of Goddess Lakshmi

1. Aadi Lakshmi

Aadi Lakshmi

Also known as Maha Lakshmi, Aadi Lakshmi is the original form of the goddess and symbolizes eternal wealth and abundance. She is the source from which all other forms of Lakshmi originate.

Aadi Lakshmi is often depicted holding a lotus and a white flag, with calm & composed expressions. She reminds us that true wealth is always present and infinite.

Also Read - Do’s and Don’ts for laxmi ganesh murti position

2. Dhanya Lakshmi

Dhanya Lakshmi

Dhaanya Lakshmi is the goddess of food and nourishment. In ancient times, the abundance of grains was a sign of prosperity and good fortune. She is often depicted holding sheaves of grain and is a representation of agricultural wealth.

By worshipping Dhanya Lakshmi, we acknowledge the importance of agriculture and the blessings of Mother Earth. It’s about appreciating the food on our table and recognizing it as a gift from the divine.

3. Gaja Lakshmi

Gaja Lakshmi

Gaja Lakshmi is depicted with two elephants, which symbolize royal power and luxury. These elephants are usually showering her with water, representing rain that nourishes the earth. Gaja Lakshmi reminds us of the wealth and prosperity that come from nature and animals.

In many cultures, elephants are seen as symbols of power, wisdom, and good luck. Gaja Lakshmi represents the abundance that comes from respecting and nurturing the animal kingdom.

4. Santana Lakshmi

Santana Lakshmi

For those wishing for a happy and prosperous family, Santana Lakshmi is the one to turn to. She is shown with a child in her arms, symbolizing fertility and healthy offspring. People often place Santana Lakshmi in homes to bless families with children and well-being. She emphasizes the joy of family life

5. Veera Lakshmi

Veera Lakshmi

Also Read - Your Guide for Placing Ganesh Laxmi Murti at Home

Veera Lakshmi, or Vira Lakshmi, is the fierce and brave form of the goddess. She’s depicted with weapons, ready to protect her devotees. Veera Lakshmi symbolizes valor and the fight for righteousness. She reminds us to stand up for what’s right and protect those in need. 

Veera Lakshmi encourages us to be fearless in the face of injustice and to stand up for what we believe in. Her presence is a powerful reminder that true wealth also includes moral and ethical strength.

6. Vidya Lakshmi

Vidya Lakshmi

Knowledge is a different kind of wealth, and Vidya Lakshmi represents this intellectual prosperity. She is depicted holding scriptures and a gesture of teaching. Statues of Vidya Lakshmi are perfect for students, teachers, and anyone in pursuit of knowledge. She encourages us to value wisdom and learning.

Vidya Lakshmi’s blessings are essential for those who seek wisdom and enlightenment. She helps us understand that knowledge is a powerful form of wealth that can open doors to countless opportunities. 

7. Vijaya Lakshmi

Vijaya Lakshmi is the goddess of success and victory. She’s shown in a triumphant pose, holding a victory flag, and symbolizes the achievement of goals and overcoming obstacles. Vijaya Lakshmi is a reminder that with dedication and perseverance, success is within reach.

Her presence brings a sense of confidence and motivation and encourages us to keep striving towards our goals, no matter how challenging they may be. 

8. Dhana Lakshmi

Dhana Lakshmi

Dhana Lakshmi is the form of Lakshmi that most people are familiar with. She represents material wealth and financial abundance and is often depicted with gold coins flowing from her hands. You can often find statues of Dhana Lakshmi placed in homes and businesses to invite financial success and prosperity. 

Also Read - 8 Divine Forms of Goddess Lakshmi


Having Lakshmi statues in your life isn’t just about decoration; it’s about inviting divine blessings and aligning your intentions with different aspects of prosperity. Each form reminds us of the various forms of wealth, from courage and knowledge to family happiness and financial success

Goddess Lakshmi, in her many forms, offers blessings that go beyond material riches. Whether you’re seeking courage, knowledge, family joy, or financial success, know that Goddess Lakshmi is always there to help you. 



Select options Close